Back to School: Clothing Staples

There’s nothing I hate more than waking up for school and realizing I don’t have my outfit for the day picked out. I could easily wear leggings and a t-shirt to school everyday if I really wanted to, but I really prefer to limit how often I’m wearing comfy clothes for the sake of my focus in class.

My freshmen year of high school, I bought clothing pieces based on if I thought they were cute. As a result, I had a dozen cute tank tops but not a single cardigan or jacket to pair with them. I’d buy  skirts and never end up wearing them due to my lack of matching tops.  My sophmore year, I slowly transitioned out of this bad habit and now that I’m going into senior year I really have it down to a science. I keep a running list of pieces I’d like to add to my wardrobe to create more outfits with what I currently have, and overtime I slowly add those pieces as they go on sale.

Today, I’ve put together a collection of my top clothing staples that I find myself reaching for most often. These are pieces that can be worn multiple seasons and multiple ways. Notice that a lot of them are classic styles with simple prints and neutral colors that all work with each other.

 

The Classic White Tee

No one’s closet is complete without a white tee. They go with everything, and I love how these have sweet touches like the cage neckline or off-the-shoulder ruffles that make them that much cuter!

| American Eagle Cage Neck T-Shirt | Aerie Ruffle Off-The-Shoulder Top |

Basic Tops

There’s nothing wrong with a few basic tops that can also be good neutrals to go with almost anything! My fave basic tipes typically consist of a classic striped boatneck, solid colored blouses, and pull over sweaters.

|J. Crew Long Sleeve Striped Boatneck | Gap Lace Bell Sleeve Top | Gap Merino Wool Crewneck Pullover-Oatmeal Heather |

Statement Tops

It’s important to have statement tops to balance out all these basics! I try to have a variety of tanks and long sleeves to best accomodate for the different seasons. (Can you tell navy and blush tones?…. Oops!)

| Gap Swiss Dot Lace Tank-Dull Rose | J. Crew Embroidered Striped Bell-Sleeve |  American Eagle Tie-Back Halter Tank-CreamJ. Crew Gingham Off-The-Shoulder Top |

Jeans

These are my go to bottoms almost all year-round. They go with everything and are perfect for all seasons. My personal favorites are American Eagle jeans, but I’m ordering some new gap ones since their denim is so high quality and they’re currently on sale!

| American Eagle Skinny Jeans  |   Gap Mid Rise Easy Jeggings |

Layers

It’s crucial that I have a jacket or cardigan to make my clothes last for all seasons. I love how adding different layers can completely transform an outfit, too!

| Old Navy Boyfriend Cardigan-Graphite Heather | Gap Garment Dye Utility Jacket-Desert Cactus |

Dresses

I really love to wear dresses when it’s not so cold outside my legs will freeze! They make for super easy outfits because there’s not a lot to coordinate. It’s important to have a variety or dresses-casual and fancy, solid and printed.

| Jersey Swing Dress-Heather Grey | J. Crew Printed Gallery Dress-Cobalt |

Neutral Shoes

Last but not least, shoes! I’m a strong believer in the idea that shoes can make or break an outfit. I love buying new shoes and seeing how much they go with, and these two pairs are some of my current obsessions.

Sperry Seacoast Canvas Sneaker-Light Charcoal | Jack Rogers Hampton Sandals-Platinum |

There it is! My completed back to school clothing staples. I think my favorite two pieces in here are the Gap Swiss Dot Lace Tank in the blush tones and the J. Crew Cobalt Shift Dress! Let me know in the commets what clothing piece you swear by for going back to school! Are you interested in seeing my top jewelry staples as well?

Have a sunny day,

Corinne

Leave a Reply

