Fourth of July Traditions

The month of July is my favorite month (and it’s not just because it happens to be my birthday month). July means perfect summer weather, an entire month of not even thinking about school, and it means celebrations for the Fourth!

The Fourth of July happens to be, in my opinion, the best summer holiday. I love all the traditions my family has and how it brings so many people together. Since I love the holiday so much, I thought I’d share some of my favorite Fourth of July traditions.

One of the local towns is the classics Small Town USA-a little main street and everyone knows everyone. Their little town pulls in all the nearby towns to put on th best parade there is filled with marching bands, firetrucks, dancing old ladies, and even a homemade float contest! It’s all a little cheesy-but that’s what I love about it! My family starts the day off attending this parade while mixing drinks and setting up breakfast in the trunk of our car. Even my cousins drive an hour to come share this tradition with us.

After the parade and seeing people we know everywhere we look, my famiy head up to my grandparents’ house where we spend the day enjoying the pool and the lake in attempts to escape the heat. We chow on prime ribs & grilled sweet corn for dinner before heading to another lake for fireworks.

Our traditions are nothing extravagant, but I’d have it no other way. I get to spend the day celebrating my country with the ones I love and that’s all I could ask for!

I love hearing about other’s traditions so share some of your favorites in the comments below!

Have a sunny day & a happy Fourth,

Corinne

Leave a Reply

